New Marriage Certificate Information
*Instructions and Marriage Certificate Form - Adults(fillable)
*Instructions and Marriage Certificate Form - Minors 16-17 years of age (fillable)
*Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Alabama Marriage Certificate
*Alabama Department of Public Heath website.
Effective August 29, 2019, the process for entering into a legal marriage in the State of Alabama changed, pursuant to Alabama Act 2019-340. Under the new law, persons wishing to become married are no longer required to file an application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts will no longer issue marriage licenses.
The Alabama Marriage Certificate form should now be completed by the persons entering into marriage and delivered to the probate court for recording. Once properly completed (including notary acknowledgment and seal) and timely recorded by the probate court, the marriage is legal. A wedding ceremony may be performed, but a ceremony is no longer required for a recognized marriage in Alabama.
Please see the links above regarding the Alabama Marriage Certificate, including Instructions for Completing and Filing the document, as well as Frequently Asked Questions.
The cost to file the original completed Alabama Marriage Certificate in the Morgan County Probate Court is $78.00 payable by cash. Debit cards and credit cards are accepted. Checks are NOT accepted.
The Morgan County Probate Court does not provide notary services for documents filed in this office, including the Alabama Marriage Certificate.
In accordance with Alabama Act 2019-340, the original completed, signed and notarized Alabama Marriage Certificate must be delivered to a probate court for recording within 30 days of the latter of the dates of the spouses’ signatures.
In accordance with Alabama Act 2019-340, if one or both of the spouses is/are under the age of 18, but at least 16 years of age, and has/have not been previously married, the consent of a parent or legal guardian for that spouse is required. The consenting parent(s) or guardian(s) must complete page 2 (Affidavit of Consent for Marriage of a Minor) of the Alabama Marriage Certificate. The completed, signed and notarized page 2 must be delivered to a probate court for recording at the same time that page 1 (Alabama Marriage Certificate) is delivered to the court.
You may request a certified copy from the Morgan County Probate Court when you deliver the original Alabama Marriage Certificate to be recorded. Certified copies are $4.00 each, payable by cash, personal check, money order or bank cashier’s check (payee: Morgan County Probate Judge). Debit cards and credit cards are accepted.
If you mail in your original signed, notarized and completed Alabama Marriage Certificate to the Morgan County Probate Judge (302 Lee St. NE, Decatur, AL 35601) include the correct filing fee ($78.00) and fee(s) ($4.00 each) for certified copy(s) you request. You must include a self-adressed stamped envelope for your certified copy(s) to be returned to you.
Do not hesitate to call the Morgan County Probate Court (256-351-4675) if you have any questions.
Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.